The Crowley-Nowick Award is bestowed annually to two members of the Integrated Concentration in Science (iCons) program who demonstrate outstanding leadership within the iCons community. This honor comes with a $1,000 cash award and certificate and is presented at the annual iCons Senior Celebration.

From left: Phoebe Hannon, Andrew Keezer, Justin Fermann of iCons and Peg Crowley-NowickThe awardees will be formally announced in the spring.

Eligibility and Application Process

  • All rising seniors (graduating in May or August of next academic year) of the Integrated Concentration of Science (iCons) Program at UMass Amherst in good standing are eligible for this award.
  • Rising seniors may self-nominate or nominate an iCons peer.

Call for Nominations

A call for nominations will go out in March. The nomination will be accompanied by a description of how the candidate exemplifies the qualities of a leader, as determined by the iCons community:

"The recipient of this award should be an active listener and contributor who supports the needs of others in the iCons community, and is committed to the program and its vision; iCons isn’t just a class to this person. They unite their cohort and bring positivity to the iCons method of learning. Especially important is the open-minded nature of this person – their ability to listen to all group members and lead through challenging situations with fairness."


In early spring, the iCons rising senior class will vote on which of the nominees they would like to be recognized.


The recipients will be notified, followed by a public announcement. The awardees will be formally recognized at the annual senior awards celebration.


Please contact Wesley J. Dunham '99, UMass iCons Strategic Communications and Program Manager,, with questions about this application and process.

Past Recipients

2020: Andrew Guthrie, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Psychology
2020: Aurelia Reynolds, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
2019: Emily Hansen, Physics
2019: Joseph McGaunn, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Psychology
2018: Dominique Carey, Chemistry
2018: Eric Wuesthoff, Natural Resource Conservation
2017: Phoebe Hannon, Psychology
2017: Andrew Keezer, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology